Verified Supplement Data Primary-sourced

Best Beta-Carotene Supplements 2026: Cost per Effective Dose

By Erin Rose · Updated · Methodology · About Us

Top pick for Beta-Carotene: NOW Foods Natural Beta Carotene 25,000 IU — 15mg beta-carotene per 1 softgel, None stated, $0.12/day.

Registry check · Beta-Carotene

Does anyone independently verify Beta-Carotene supplements?

0 of 4Beta-Carotene products on this page appear in a third-party certifier’s registry

We could not confirm a single one of these 4 products in any registry, and none of them claims otherwise. Not one brand here displays a certification mark, so on independent verification all 4 start level.

4 checked against all 5,317 US NSF, USP and Informed Sport listings, 2026-08-25. Full method and limitations.

What 4 Beta-Carotene labels show

Priced per day, these beta-carotene products run $0.12 to $1.22 — a 10× gap between the cheapest and dearest beta-carotene here, across 4 brands.

Servings here are close enough to compare directly, so the gap is a real one: NOW Foods at $0.12 buys the same thing as Karuna at $1.22.

All Beta-Carotene Supplements Compared

⚠ This is the rare supplement with a well-documented population that should avoid it: two large trials, ATBC and CARET, found higher lung cancer incidence among smokers and asbestos-exposed workers taking high-dose beta-carotene. If you smoke or have smoked, take vitamin A activity from food or a mixed-carotenoid multivitamin instead. For everyone else, mixed carotenoid products more closely resemble dietary intake than isolated synthetic beta-carotene.

Beta-Carotene supplements ranked by cost per effective daily dose. Prices as of September 8, 2026.
Product Brand Dose / Serving Cost / Day Certification (as labelled) Pick Buy
NOW Foods Natural Beta Carotene 25,000 IU NOW Foods 15mg beta-carotene / 1 softgel $0.12 None stated Buy
Pure Encapsulations Beta Carotene (with Mixed Carotenoids) 25,000 IU Pure Encapsulations 15mg beta-carotene / 1 softgel capsule $0.41 Hypoallergenic, NSF-audited GMP Buy
Country Life Carotenoid Complex Country Life mg carotenoid blend (not disclosed) / 1 softgel $0.46 None stated Buy
Karuna Mixed Carotenoids Karuna 7.75mg disclosed carotenoids (lutein+lycopene+zeaxanthin+cryptoxanthin; beta-carotene amount not disclosed) / 1 vegetarian capsule $1.22 None stated Buy

In-Depth Beta-Carotene Guides

Go deeper on beta-carotene — by goal, by form, and what the evidence actually supports:

Our Picks

Lowest Cost: NOW Foods Natural Beta Carotene 25,000 IU

15mg beta-carotene per 1 softgel. None stated. $0.12/day. 180 servings per container at $21.94.

NOW Foods Natural Beta Carotene 25,000 IU →

The shelf · Beta-Carotene

Pack sizes differ 6×, so the shelf price tells you very little

30–180servings per container across the 4 Beta-Carotene products we track

Karuna Mixed Carotenoids holds 30 servings and NOW Foods Natural Beta Carotene 25,000 IU holds 180 — the same shelf price buys 6× more of one than the other, which is why all 4 rows above are priced per day. On that basis NOW Foods Natural Beta Carotene 25,000 IU is the cheapest at 12¢ and Karuna Mixed Carotenoids the dearest at $1.22.

Method: the 4 Beta-Carotene products above, compared on label facts — serving size, servings per container, form, price. Not a dosing recommendation.

The evidence · Beta-Carotene

What the published reviews of Beta-Carotene concluded

4systematic reviews and meta-analyses with Beta-Carotene in the title, published 2018–2023

Method: PubMed searched in humans for systematic reviews and meta-analyses with Beta-Carotene in the title; these 4 of the 7 that qualified are shown with the authors’ own conclusion quoted rather than summarised. What it cannot tell you: whether Beta-Carotene will work for you — each of these reports an average across trials published 2018–2023, and null findings are shown here as readily as positive ones.

How these 4 Beta-Carotene products were ranked

Not one of these 4 beta-carotene products could be confirmed in the NSF, USP or Informed Sport registries, so verification separates none of them and the ranking falls to cost per day at the labelled serving. Commission does not enter it: the rate is the same whichever beta-carotene you buy. Full methodology.