Best Ashwagandha Supplements 2026: Cost per Effective Dose
One trial day of ashwagandha capsules or gummies costs $0.28 to $1.33 across the products below, at each brand’s own list price. Bulk powder is cheaper, $0.096 a day, but you need a scale. A trial day is the daily dose that extract’s trials used, such as 600 mg of KSM-66. Our pick, Transparent Labs KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg, is $0.33 and is on Informed Choice, a list that tests store-bought bottles.
By Erin Rose Updated October 8, 2026 How we score
What a trial day costs, brand by brand
Each product in the size the link opens, at the brand’s own list price, checked October 7, 2026. Prices at other stores may differ. Compare costs within one kind: each kind’s trial day is a different dose.
| Product and size | Trial day |
|---|---|
| BulkSupplements Ashwagandha Root Extract Powder 250 g, list $23.97 · 600 mg of unbranded root extract a serving (about 1/4 tsp)NSF Certified for Sport + NSF/ANSI 173 · NSF lists named lots only; check yours | $0.096for 1,000 mg |
| Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg 60 capsules, list $16.97 · 600 mg of KSM-66 in 1 capsule | $0.28for 600 mg |
| Momentous Ashwagandha, NooGandha 300 mg 60 capsules, list $24.99 · 300 mg of NooGandha in 1 capsuleNSF Certified for Sport + NSF/ANSI 173 | $0.31for 225 mg |
| Transparent Labs KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg 60 capsules (60 servings), list $19.99 · 600 mg of KSM-66 in 1 capsuleInformed Choice | $0.33for 600 mg |
| NOW Ashwagandha Extract 450 mg 90 veg capsules, list $19.99 · 450 mg of unbranded root extract in 1 veg capsule | $0.49for 1,000 mg |
| Life Extension Optimized Ashwagandha, Sensoril 125 mg 60 vegetarian capsules, list $7.50 · 125 mg of Sensoril in 1 capsule | $0.50for 500 mg |
| Thorne Ashwagandha, Shoden 120 mg 30 capsules, list $22.00 · 120 mg of Shoden in 1 capsuleNSF/ANSI 173 | $0.73for 120 mg |
| Nature Made Ashwagandha Gummies, KSM-66 60 gummies (30 days), list $19.99 · 300 mg of KSM-66 in 2 gummies (1 gummy twice daily) | $1.33for 600 mg |
We priced 27 ashwagandha products at every size each brand sells; these 8 are the best value of each kind. How many capsules make a trial day: our dosage page. To choose by need: the 3 best ashwagandha supplements.
Why we price a trial day
Extracts are dosed differently: 120 mg of Shoden and 600 mg of KSM-66 were each a full day in their own trials. So we price the daily dose each product’s own extract was tested at, not a capsule or a serving. Of the 20 capsule products we score, 10 give a full trial day in one label serving; the rest need more capsules than the label serving. Added root powder, black pepper, vitamin D and ginger do not count, and neither do “equivalent to” figures for raw root.
What the trials of ashwagandha measured, and its side effects: benefits and side effects. How much to take: our dosage page.
10 ashwagandha products we checked but did not price
- Nature's Way Ashwagandha capsules (60): The brand's own page sells a Sensoril capsule (500 mg in 2 capsules), but the Amazon listing (B0002IHEZY) is a different formula: 'Ashwagandha Root Extract standardized to 3.5% withanolides (17.5 mg)', 1 capsule 2 to 3 times daily. We could not match the pack to a label and price.
- Mason Natural Ashwagandha 500 mg (60 capsules): On NSF/ANSI 173 (1 capsule), but we could not read a list price on Mason's store (its product link returns the home page). Label: 500 mg root extract, 1.5% withanolides.
- Black Girl Vitamins Calm Girl Ashwagandha gummies (60): On NSF/ANSI 173, but the brand's facts panel (2025) prints no ashwagandha amount at all (vitamin D 100 mcg and zinc 2 mg only), so there is no dose to score.
- NaturaLife Labs Organic Ashwagandha 2,100 mg (100 capsules): The current panel prints only a 2,100 mg blend of root powder and extract; the extract amount is not stated (a 2020 NIH label split it 1,050/1,050).
- Gaia Herbs Ashwagandha Root 350 mg (60 capsules): A 350 mg blend of root and root extract with no split, so the extract amount is not stated. Label: 2.5 mg withanolides a capsule.
- Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar + Ashwagandha (90 capsules): An apple cider vinegar product with 125 mg of Sensoril in 3 capsules (on NSF/ANSI 173); not an ashwagandha supplement shoppers compare.
- Nutricost Ashwagandha 600 mg, unbranded (120 capsules): Read (600 mg root extract, min. 2.5% withanolides, $16.97 for 120) but left out: Nutricost's KSM-66 capsule is scored, and the census keeps one product per brand line.
- Horbaach Ashwagandha (200 capsules): Read (450 mg of a 10:1 extract per 3 capsules, 'equivalent to 4,500 mg') but left out to keep the census near 25 products; no testing claim.
- Sports Research Organic Ashwagandha 600 mg with KSM-66 (90 capsules): A newer Sports Research product (Amazon B0G4XN31BL) whose label and brand price we did not read; its Shoden softgel is scored.
- Organic India Ashwagandha root powder (1 lb): Read (1.7 g of root powder per 1/2 tsp, 267 servings, $24.99 regular) but left out; its capsule is scored.
Sources
- Prices: each brand’s own list price, its regular one-time price, for every size it sells (sale, subscribe and multi-bottle prices left out), checked October 7, 2026. We quote no Amazon prices; Amazon is only where the buy links go.
- Labels: each brand’s page or the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database. Testing: NSF/ANSI 173, NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Choice and Informed Sport, read October 7, 2026; USP Verified from our copy of September 22, 2026. Momentous is NSF Certified for Sport listing 1604971; Thorne Ashwagandha is on NSF/ANSI 173 only.
The unit is one trial day of the extract the label names. Scores updated October 7, 2026.