Verified Supplement Data

The 3 Best Ashwagandha Supplements of 2026

The best ashwagandha for most people is Transparent Labs KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg: 600 mg of KSM-66 a capsule, $0.33 a trial day. It is on Informed Choice, a list that tests store-bought bottles. For the lowest cost, Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg gives the same 600 mg for $0.28.

By Erin Rose Updated October 8, 2026 How we score

Prices are each brand’s own list price; other stores may differ.

Our pick for: Most people

Transparent Labs KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg (60 Capsules)

Transparent Labs KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg

10.0/10 Our score

Tied for the top score of the 18 capsules we score

Good

  • On the Informed Choice list (checked October 7, 2026)
  • Trial-sized serving: 600 mg per serving (we count 250 mg or more)
  • Close to the lowest cost per dose (1.2 times the cheapest of its kind we score)

Watch for

Nothing flagged on our five marks.

KSM-66
600 mgin 1 capsule
A trial day
$0.33600 mg of KSM-66, list price
Testing list
Informed Choicechecked October 7, 2026
Bottle
60 capsules, $19.99Transparent Labs’ own store price
Our take

Why we pick it It is the top-scoring KSM-66 capsule on a public testing list. KSM-66 is the extract with the most trials we read in healthy adults (6). One capsule holds 600 mg, the daily dose most KSM-66 trials used, so one capsule is a trial day: $0.33 at list price. Informed Choice buys it from stores at least monthly and tests it for substances banned in sport.

What you give up A little money. Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg is $0.28 a trial day (below).

Testing record
  • Informed Choice: banned substances, monthly retail samples Checked October 7, 2026.

Not found on: NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified.

Our other 2 picks

Our pick for: Drug-tested athletes

Momentous Ashwagandha, NooGandha 300 mg (60 Capsules)

Momentous Ashwagandha, NooGandha 300 mg

10.0/10 Our score

Top-scoring NSF Certified for Sport pick, for drug-tested athletes

Good

  • On the NSF Certified for Sport and NSF/ANSI 173 lists (checked October 7, 2026)
  • Trial-sized serving: 300 mg per serving (we count 225 mg or more)
  • The lowest cost per dose of its kind that we score

Watch for

Nothing flagged on our five marks.

NooGandha
300 mgin 1 capsule
A trial day
$0.31225 mg of NooGandha, list price
Testing lists
NSF Certified for Sportall lots, and NSF/ANSI 173, checked October 7, 2026
Bottle
60 capsules, $24.99Momentous’ own store price
Our take

Why we pick it NSF Certified for Sport tests every lot for substances banned in sport (listing 1604971). It is also on NSF/ANSI 173, which checks that the bottle holds what the label says. One capsule holds 300 mg of NooGandha, a branded extract.

What you give up Trial support. In NooGandha’s one stress trial, stress scores did not differ from placebo (Remenapp 2022, funded by its maker).

Testing record
  • NSF Certified for Sport: banned substances, by lot See the listing Checked October 7, 2026.
  • NSF/ANSI 173: contents match the label Checked October 7, 2026.

Not found on: Informed Sport, Informed Choice, USP Verified.

Our pick for: Lowest cost

Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg (60 Capsules)

Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg

8.5/10 Our score

Lowest cost a trial day of the 9 KSM-66 capsules we score

Good

  • Trial-sized serving: 600 mg per serving (we count 250 mg or more)
  • The lowest cost per dose of its kind that we score
  • Label states the amount, with no blend

Watch for

  • Not on a public testing list we check (the brand says it tests its products)
KSM-66
600 mgin 1 capsule
A trial day
$0.28600 mg of KSM-66, list price
Testing list
Not on one we checkedOctober 7, 2026
Bottle
60 capsules, $16.97Nutricost’s own store price
Our take

Why we pick it The lowest cost per trial day of any KSM-66 capsule we score: $0.28. One capsule is 600 mg, the same as our main pick.

What you give up No outside program has checked the bottle.

Testing record

Not found on any testing list we check.

Not found on: NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, Informed Choice, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified.

Which one is for you?

One 600 mg KSM-66 capsule a day matches the dose most KSM-66 trials gave (how much to take). Then pick the row that fits you.

Match your situation to a pick. Cost is for one trial day (the daily dose that extract’s trials used) at the brand’s list price.
Your situationWhat to buy
You want a product on a testing listTransparent Labs KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg, $0.33 (our pick)
You are drug-tested in your sportMomentous Ashwagandha, NooGandha 300 mg, $0.31, NSF Certified for Sport (above)
You want the lowest costNutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha 600 mg, $0.28 (above)
You want ShodenThorne Ashwagandha, Shoden 120 mg: 120 mg in 1 capsule, $0.73; on NSF/ANSI 173
You are fine measuring a powderBulkSupplements Ashwagandha Root Extract Powder: $0.096 a day (1,000 mg) in the 250 g bag; on NSF Certified for Sport (named lots). You need a scale.
You want SensorilNootropics Depot Sensoril Ashwagandha 125 mg: 4 capsules make a 500 mg trial day, $0.67. Not on a testing list we checked.
You want a gummyNature Made Ashwagandha Gummies, KSM-66: 4 gummies make 600 mg of KSM-66, $1.33. Not on a testing list we checked.
You already buy Nootropics DepotNootropics Depot KSM-66 Ashwagandha 300 mg: 2 capsules make a trial day, $0.44. Not on a testing list we checked.

KSM-66, Shoden or Sensoril?

No trial we read compared them, and each extract’s withanolide figure is measured a different way. So dose each one at the amount its own trials used: 600 mg a day of KSM-66 (6 trials we read), 120 to 240 mg of Shoden (2 trials), 125 to 500 mg of Sensoril. KSM-66 vs Sensoril, side by side.

Read the label: the serving can be 2 capsules

The big number on the front is for one serving, and a serving can be 2 capsules. Youtheory’s “1,000 mg” is 600 mg of KSM-66 plus 400 mg of plain root powder. Our costs are per trial day, so they already account for this. How many capsules make a trial day.

How other guides picked

Of 7 other guides we read on October 7, 2026, 5 rank Transparent Labs KSM-66 first (Garage Gym Reviews, Yahoo Health, BarBend, Sleepopolis and Fortune), and 4 include Nutricost. We agree on both. We add Momentous for athletes who are drug-tested: it is the top-scoring capsule on NSF Certified for Sport.

How we score

We scored 27 ashwagandha products in all; the picks and the table above are the best of each kind. What a trial day costs, brand by brand.

The score. Five marks: does a serving hold at least the lowest daily dose a trial of that extract tested (250 mg of KSM-66, 120 mg of Shoden, 125 mg of Sensoril, 225 mg of NooGandha, 700 mg of an unbranded extract, 5 g of root powder; this line is ours, not an official one); is the product on a public testing list (a brand’s own testing claim, with no listing, earns half the points); what a trial day costs against the cheapest in its group; does the label state the amount with no blend; and the brand’s FDA record. Dose and testing are worth up to 3 points each, cost up to 2, label and FDA record up to 1 each, for 10 in all. Scores updated October 7, 2026. How we score.

Not scored, and why.

  • Nature's Way Ashwagandha capsules (60): The brand's own page sells a Sensoril capsule (500 mg in 2 capsules), but the Amazon listing (B0002IHEZY) is a different formula: 'Ashwagandha Root Extract standardized to 3.5% withanolides (17.5 mg)', 1 capsule 2 to 3 times daily. We could not match the pack to a label and price.
  • Mason Natural Ashwagandha 500 mg (60 capsules): On NSF/ANSI 173 (1 capsule), but we could not read a list price on Mason's store (its product link returns the home page). Label: 500 mg root extract, 1.5% withanolides.
  • Black Girl Vitamins Calm Girl Ashwagandha gummies (60): On NSF/ANSI 173, but the brand's facts panel (2025) prints no ashwagandha amount at all (vitamin D 100 mcg and zinc 2 mg only), so there is no dose to score.
  • NaturaLife Labs Organic Ashwagandha 2,100 mg (100 capsules): The current panel prints only a 2,100 mg blend of root powder and extract; the extract amount is not stated (a 2020 NIH label split it 1,050/1,050).
  • Gaia Herbs Ashwagandha Root 350 mg (60 capsules): A 350 mg blend of root and root extract with no split, so the extract amount is not stated. Label: 2.5 mg withanolides a capsule.
  • Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar + Ashwagandha (90 capsules): An apple cider vinegar product with 125 mg of Sensoril in 3 capsules (on NSF/ANSI 173); not an ashwagandha supplement shoppers compare.
  • Nutricost Ashwagandha 600 mg, unbranded (120 capsules): Read (600 mg root extract, min. 2.5% withanolides, $16.97 for 120) but left out: Nutricost's KSM-66 capsule is scored, and the census keeps one product per brand line.
  • Horbaach Ashwagandha (200 capsules): Read (450 mg of a 10:1 extract per 3 capsules, 'equivalent to 4,500 mg') but left out to keep the census near 25 products; no testing claim.
  • Sports Research Organic Ashwagandha 600 mg with KSM-66 (90 capsules): A newer Sports Research product (Amazon B0G4XN31BL) whose label and brand price we did not read; its Shoden softgel is scored.
  • Organic India Ashwagandha root powder (1 lb): Read (1.7 g of root powder per 1/2 tsp, 267 servings, $24.99 regular) but left out; its capsule is scored.

What the trials measured

Most ashwagandha trials are small, 4 to 13 weeks long, and tied to the extract’s maker. In adults without a diagnosed condition they measured stress questionnaires, cortisol, sleep ratings and strength. Every trial, with its funder, how much to take and side effects.

Sources

  1. Remenapp A 2022, Journal of Ayurveda and integrative medicine. PubMed 34838432
  2. Other guides, read October 7, 2026: Garage Gym Reviews, Yahoo Health, BarBend, Sleepopolis, Fortune, Innerbody and Healthline.
  3. Labels: each brand’s page or the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database. Testing: Informed Choice (list), NSF Certified for Sport (listings 1604971 and 1796579), NSF/ANSI 173 and Informed Sport, read October 7, 2026; USP Verified from our copy of September 22, 2026. Prices: each brand’s own list price, checked October 7, 2026.