The 3 Best EAA Supplements of 2026
The best EAA supplement for most people is BulkSupplements Essential Amino Acids Powder: $26.97 for the 500 g bag, or $0.54 a serving with 10 g of the nine essential amino acids, on NSF/ANSI 173. That is $0.54 per 10 g, the lowest cost of the 16 we score. For drug-tested athletes: RAW Nutrition EAA Plus, Watermelon Grape, on Informed Sport.
By Erin Rose Updated October 11, 2026 How we score
Our picks at a glance
Our pick for: Most people
BulkSupplements Essential Amino Acids Powder
9.5/10 Our score
9.5/10, the lowest cost per 10 g of the 16 EAA products we score
Good
- On the NSF/ANSI 173 list (checked October 7, 2026)
- Full-size serving: 10 g per serving (we count 6 g or more)
- The lowest cost per dose of its kind that we score
Watch for
- A blend: the label gives the total, not each part
- EAA a serving
- 10 g4 tsp (about 10 g); all nine in one blend
- Per 10 g of EAA
- $0.54500 g bag, list price
- Per gram
- $0.054at the brand’s list price
- Testing list
- NSF/ANSI 173checked October 7, 2026
- Leucine
- Not statedthe label gives only the 10 g total
- Bag
- 500 g bag, $26.97BulkSupplements’ own store price
Our take
Why we pick it It costs the least per 10 g of essential amino acids of the 16 EAA products we score: $0.54 at list price. The next-cheapest one on a testing list costs $1.11. A 4-teaspoon serving holds 10 g of the nine. NSF/ANSI 173, which checks that the contents match the label, lists this powder with no bag size, so we treat the 500 g bag as covered.
What you give up The label lists all nine amino acids in one 10 g blend with no amount for each, so you cannot see how much leucine you get. It is unflavored, with no sweetener.
Which bag Our button is the 500 g bag. The 1 kg bag of the same powder costs less, $0.38 per 10 g at list price, and it is the size NSF Certified for Sport lists (listing 1796669). That list also screens for drugs banned in sport. If you are drug-tested or want the lowest cost, buy the 1 kg bag.
Testing record
- NSF/ANSI 173: contents match the label Checked October 7, 2026.
NSF Certified for Sport: the 1 kg bag only (listing 1796669). Not found on: Informed Sport, Informed Choice, USP Verified.
Our other 2 picks
- Drug-tested athletes RAW Nutrition EAA Plus, Watermelon Grape
- Every amount on the label Nutricost EAA Powder, Unflavored
Our pick for: Drug-tested athletes
RAW Nutrition EAA Plus, Watermelon Grape
9.0/10 Our score
9.0/10, the top score on a list that tests every batch
Good
- On the Informed Sport list (checked October 7, 2026)
- Full-size serving: 9.25 g per serving (we count 6 g or more)
- Label states the amount, with no blend
Watch for
- Costs 1.4 times as much per dose as the cheapest of its kind we score
- EAA a serving
- 9.25 g1 scoop (12.9 g), each amount printed
- Leucine
- 3 g (32%)a scoop, by the label
- Per 10 g of EAA
- $1.26list price
- Testing list
- Informed Sportevery batch tested before sale; checked October 7, 2026
- Sweetened with
- sucralose, stevia Reb Mflavored powder
Our take
Why we pick it Informed Sport tests every batch for substances banned in sport before it is sold. This powder is on it, and its label prints each of the nine: 9.25 g a scoop with 3 g (32%) leucine. It costs $1.26 per 10 g of EAA at list price.
What you give up Cost: it is more than twice our pick per 10 g. It is flavored and sweetened. A higher-scoring flavored powder is on Informed Choice, which tests samples bought from stores, not every batch, so we pick from the every-batch lists for athletes.
Testing record
- Informed Sport: banned substances, every batch Checked October 7, 2026.
Not found on: NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Choice, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified.
Our pick for: Every amount on the label
Nutricost EAA Powder, Unflavored
7.5/10 Our score
7.5/10, the lowest cost of the labels that print each of the nine
Good
- Full-size serving: 8 g per serving (we count 6 g or more)
- Label states the amount, with no blend
- No FDA recall for the brand in 24 months
Watch for
- Not on a public testing list we check (the brand says it tests its products)
- Costs 1.5 times as much per dose as the cheapest of its kind we score
- EAA a serving
- 8 g1 scoop (8 g), each amount printed
- Leucine
- 3 g (38%)a scoop, by the label
- Per 10 g of EAA
- $0.83list price
- Testing list
- None foundthe brand says independent labs test it
- Flavor
- Unflavoredno sweetener
Our take
Why we pick it It is the cheapest powder we score that prints the amount of each of the nine: 8 g a scoop, with 3 g (38%) leucine, for $0.83 per 10 g at list price. Unflavored, with no sweetener.
What you give up No public list we search carries it; Nutricost says independent labs test it. The mix leans on three amino acids: 6 g of the 8 g is leucine, isoleucine and valine, and methionine is 10 mg.
Testing record
Not found on any testing list we check.
Not found on: NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, Informed Choice, NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified.
Which one is for you?
| Your situation | What to buy |
|---|---|
| You want the lowest cost, from a tested product | $0.54 (our pick): BulkSupplements Essential Amino Acids Powder. |
| You are drug-tested in your sport | On Informed Sport, $1.26 (above): RAW Nutrition EAA Plus, Watermelon Grape. |
| Your league asks for NSF Certified for Sport | The 1 kg bag of our pick, the size that list names, $0.38: BulkSupplements Essential Amino Acids Powder, 1 kg bag. |
| You want every amount printed | 8 g a scoop with 3 g (38%) leucine, $0.83 (above): Nutricost EAA Powder, Unflavored. |
| You want a flavored powder for less | 8 g in 1 scoop (11 g), sweetened with sucralose, acesulfame potassium, $0.92: Nutricost EAA Powder, Fruit Punch. |
| You want unflavored and vegan, every amount printed | 9.25 g in a 10 g serving, 2.4 g (26%) leucine, $0.86: NAKED EAAs Amino Acids Powder. |
| You want capsules | 1.2 g in 2 capsules, so 10 g takes about 17 capsules, $1.46: Nutricost EAA Capsules 1200 mg. |
| You want more in each capsule serving | 5 g in 7 capsules, $3.33: Kion Aminos Essential Amino Acids Capsules. |
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| BulkSupplements unflavored powder | $0.54 |
| Nutricost EAA Powder, Unflavored | $0.83 |
| NAKED EAAs Amino Acids Powder | $0.86 |
| Nutricost EAA Powder, Fruit Punch | $0.92 |
| RAW Nutrition EAA Plus | $1.26 |
| Nutricost EAA Capsules 1200 mg | $1.46 |
| Kion capsules | $3.33 |
Read the label: the scoop is not the dose
The number that matters is grams of the nine essential amino acids, not the scoop weight. Flavors, sweeteners and salts add weight. Here is how much of each scoop is EAA, by each brand’s own label:
| Product | EAA in a serving | Leucine |
|---|---|---|
| RAW Nutrition EAA Plus, Watermelon Grapeflavored powder · Informed Sport | 9.25 g in a 12.9 g serving | 3 g (32%) |
| Nutricost EAA Powder, Fruit Punchflavored powder | 8 g in a 11 g serving | 3 g (38%) |
| NAKED EAAs Amino Acids Powderunflavored powder | 9.25 g in a 10 g serving | 2.4 g (26%) |
Two more label checks. Some labels give one blend total and no amount for each amino acid; our pick does this, so you cannot check its leucine. And capsules hold little: Nutricost’s capsules give 1.2 g in 2 capsules.
EAA, BCAA or whey: what you are paying for
EAAs are the nine amino acids your body cannot make. You get them from food protein. An EAA powder gives you just those nine, with no other protein and few calories. If you already eat protein at meals, an EAA powder is a convenience, not a must.
BCAAs are three of the nine (leucine, isoleucine and valine). A 2017 review found no study that measured muscle protein building with BCAAs alone taken by mouth, and called the claim that they raise it unwarranted (Wolfe 2017; the author owns shares in an amino-acid company). One 2017 trial in 10 young men did measure it: 5.6 g of BCAAs after strength exercise raised it 22% more than a placebo drink over 4 hours (Jackman 2017). More on EAA vs BCAA.
Whey is a whole protein that has all nine plus other amino acids. In short lab tests in older women, 1.5 to 3 g of a leucine-rich EAA mix raised muscle protein building about as much as 20 to 40 g of whey over the first 2 hours (Bukhari 2015; Wilkinson 2018; in both, one author works for Ajinomoto, an amino-acid maker). Those tests lasted hours, not months.
How other guides picked
Innerbody picks NAKED EAAs Amino Acids Powder, with BulkSupplements as its budget pick. We agree on both and rank them the other way: BulkSupplements costs $0.54 per 10 g and is on NSF/ANSI 173; NAKED costs $0.86 and prints every amount (9.25 g in a 10 g serving, not 10 g). We read the guide on October 7, 2026, and we did not taste or mix these products.
The 7 we show, out of the 16 we score, and how we checked them
What the testing lists show
| Product | Score | EAA | Per 10 g | Leucine | Testing list | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BulkSupplements Essential Amino Acids PowderBulkSupplements · unflavored powder | 9.5/10 | 10 g4 tsp (about 10 g) | $0.54 | not stated | NSF/ANSI 173 | Buy on Amazon |
| RAW Nutrition EAA Plus, Watermelon GrapeRAW Nutrition · flavored powder | 9.0/10 | 9.25 g1 scoop (12.9 g) | $1.26 | 3 g (32%) | Informed Sport | Buy on Amazon |
| Nutricost EAA Powder, Fruit PunchNutricost · flavored powder | 8.5/10 | 8 g1 scoop (11 g) | $0.92 | 3 g (38%) | Not found* | Buy on Amazon |
| Nutricost EAA Powder, UnflavoredNutricost · unflavored powder | 7.5/10 | 8 g1 scoop (8 g) | $0.83 | 3 g (38%) | Not found* | Buy on Amazon |
| NAKED EAAs Amino Acids PowderNAKED · unflavored powder | 6.0/10 | 9.25 g10 g (about 2 scoops) | $0.86 | 2.4 g (26%) | Not found* | Buy on Amazon |
| Nutricost EAA Capsules 1200 mgNutricost · capsules | 5.5/10 | 1.2 g2 capsules | $1.46 | 0.25 g (21%) | Not found* | Buy on Amazon |
| Kion Aminos Essential Amino Acids CapsulesKion · capsules | 3.5/10 | 5 g7 capsules | $3.33 | 2 g (40%) | Not found* | Buy on Amazon |
* Not found on NSF/ANSI 173, NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Choice or Informed Sport (read October 7, 2026) or on our September 22, 2026 copy of USP’s list. A brand’s own “third-party tested” line is a claim, not a listing. Which of all 16 are on a list: which EAA supplements are third-party tested. Every size and price: EAA prices.
The score. Five marks: does a serving give at least 6 g of the nine, which we count as a full-size serving (short lab tests used 1.5 to 15 g; this line is ours, not an official one); is the product on a public testing list (a brand’s own testing claim, with no listing, earns half the points); what 10 g of EAA costs against the cheapest in its group; does the label state each of the nine amounts; and the brand’s FDA record. Dose and testing are worth up to 3 points each, cost up to 2, label and FDA record up to 1 each, for 10 in all. Trials found effects from 1.5 to 3 g, so a lower dose mark is about our line, not proof the product does not work. Scores updated October 7, 2026. How we score.
Not scored, and why.
- Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy: Its 5 g 'Amino Blend' mixes essential and non-essential amino acids with no amounts, and it carries 100 mg of caffeine, so we cannot count grams of the nine. Informed Choice and Informed Sport list other versions (Hydration + Focus, Elite Series).
- BodyHealth PerfectAmino (powder and tablets): Its panel gives one 5 g blend of essential amino acids mixed with nucleic-acid ingredients, so the grams of EAA are not stated. The NSF Certified for Sport versions (Mixed Berry and Vanilla powder, coated tablets) carry the same blend.
- OptimalAmino (powder and tablets): Its NIH label (DSLD 295109) gives a 10 g blend that names eight amino acids with no amounts; histidine is not listed.
- Sunwarrior Active Aminos: Its 8 g 'EAA' blend also lists tyrosine, a non-essential amino acid, and gives no amounts, so we cannot say how many grams of the nine it holds.
- GNC Pro Performance Essential Amino Complete: No list price we can cite, and no Amazon listing we could price.
- Pure Power (Mercola) EAA + BCAA: On NSF Certified for Sport, but no live Amazon offer and no list price we could read (the brand's product page was gone, 2026-10-07).
- Transparent Labs Intra Workout EAA: Its 6.7 g 'Amino9' blend gives no amounts, and we did not find it on Amazon (2026-10-07).
- Xtend EAA + BCAA (40 servings): No label we can read: the brand store does not list it, and the Amazon title's '10g EAAs' could not be checked (2026-10-07).
- Pure Encapsulations Essential Aminos: No list price we can cite: the brand sells through practitioners, and we do not use Amazon prices. Its NIH label gives 0.725 g of EAA a capsule.
- The Amino Company Perform: A hidden blend with no tryptophan, plus caffeine, creatine and citrulline: not a nine-EAA product.
- NOW Sports Amino Complete: On Informed Sport, but it is a blend of protein sources (whey, soy, casein), not free essential amino acids.
- Spoken Nutrition Aminos + ATP: On NSF Certified for Sport, but we found no Amazon listing and could not read its panel amounts.
What trials found
Short lab tests show that EAAs raise muscle protein building for a few hours, from as little as 1.5 g (Wilkinson 2018). Trials that ran for months are mixed. In older women, 7.5 g twice a day for 3 months raised lean mass but not strength (Dillon 2009). In another trial, muscle mass rose significantly in older women who did both strength training and EAAs, and the authors found the two together better than either alone (Jeong 2026). Every trial, read straight, how much to take, and safety.
Sources
- Wolfe RR 2017, J Int Soc Sports Nutr. PubMed 28852372
- Jackman SR 2017, Front Physiol. PubMed 28638350
- Bukhari SS 2015, Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. PubMed 25827594
- Wilkinson DJ 2018, Clin Nutr. PubMed 29031484
- Dillon EL 2009, J Clin Endocrinol Metab. PubMed 19208731
- Jeong D 2026, J Int Soc Sports Nutr. PubMed 41863133
- NIDDK. Healthy eating for adults with chronic kidney disease (last reviewed January 2025). MedlinePlus. Phenylketonuria. Both read October 7, 2026.
- Other guide, read October 7, 2026: Innerbody, “Best Amino Acid Supplements”.
- Labels: each brand’s page or the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database. Testing: NSF/ANSI 173, NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Choice and Informed Sport, read October 7, 2026; USP Verified from our copy of September 22, 2026. Prices: each brand’s own list price, checked October 7, 2026.


