Verified Supplement Data

Vital Proteins vs Ancient Nutrition Collagen (2026): Which to Buy

Buy Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides (the plain tub). It costs $0.62 per 10 g on Amazon, against $0.93 for Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen’s blend, and two NSF testing programs list it. Ancient Nutrition is on none. Its extras, vitamin C and a probiotic, do not make up for a 48% higher price per gram.

By Erin Rose Updated October 18, 2026 Methodology

Better buy

Vital Proteins

Cost
$0.62 per 10 g
Testing
NSF Certified for Sport, NSF/ANSI 173
Check price

 

Ancient Nutrition

Cost
$0.93 per 10 g
Testing
Not on a testing list
Check price

Price: Ancient Nutrition costs 48% more per gram

On Amazon (November 6, 2026), Vital Proteins’ 14.3 oz tub is $24.99 for 20 servings of 20 g: $0.62 per 10 g of collagen. Ancient Nutrition is $37.05 for 40 scoops of 10 g: $0.93 per 10 g, and not all of that 10 g is collagen (the blend also holds bone broth protein and a probiotic). At Ancient Nutrition’s own store it is $1.20 per 10 g. If you take 20 g a day, Ancient Nutrition costs about $18.09 more a month.

Cost per 10 g = price ÷ (grams per serving on the label × servings) × 10. Amazon prices checked November 6, 2026.
TubPriceCollagen in the tub (servings × grams)Per 10 g
Vital Proteins, 14.3 oz$24.99400 g$0.62
Ancient Nutrition, 40 servings$37.05400 g$0.93

Testing: Vital Proteins is on two NSF lists; Ancient Nutrition is on none

The 14.3 oz tub on NSF Certified for Sport

The 405 g size in this listing is the 14.3 oz tub we link. Buy the plain tub. The 20 oz “Advanced” Vital Proteins tub is a different formula and is not on either NSF list. Screenshots taken October 5, 2026; click an image to open the live page.

What is in the scoop

Vital Proteins is one ingredient: collagen peptides from cattle. Ancient Nutrition is a 10 g blend from cattle, chicken, fish and eggshell membrane, with a probiotic and some chicken bone broth protein mixed in. The label does not say how much comes from each source. Both give 9 g of protein per 10 g.

From each Supplement Facts panel. These are the brands’ own figures.
Per servingVital ProteinsAncient Nutrition
Serving on the label4 tbsp (20 g)1 scoop (10.1 g)
Collagen per serving20 g10 g blend (includes bone broth protein and a probiotic)
Protein per serving18 g9 g
Calories7035
SourcesCattle (bovine hide)Cattle, chicken, fish, eggshell membrane
Amount from each sourceOne sourceNot stated
ExtrasNothing added90 mg vitamin C, probiotic (2 billion CFU)
Allergens on the labelNot statedEgg, fish
Testing listNSF Certified for Sport, NSF/ANSI 173Not found on any
Supplement Facts panel from the Vital Proteins label: 4 tbsp (20 g) serving.
Vital Proteins · We link the 14.3 oz tub (about 20 servings); this label is from a larger tub (about 28 servings) The label NSF has on file for listing 1792557. Same 4 tbsp (20 g) serving and the same figures as the 14.3 oz tub's label on Amazon.
Supplement Facts panel from the Ancient Nutrition label: 1 scoop (10.1 g) serving.
Ancient Nutrition · We link the 40-serving tub; this label is from the 1 lb (45-serving) tub Label on file with NIH DSLD 287182, entered June 22, 2023. Same 1-scoop serving and the same figures per scoop.

No study compares these two. The research is on collagen peptides in general: a 2023 review of 26 trials found hydrolyzed collagen improved skin hydration and elasticity compared with a placebo (Pu 2023), though a 2025 review found the gains mainly in trials paid for by companies (collagen for skin). Ancient Nutrition’s “10 types of collagen” claim (from its Amazon listing) is not a reason to pay more: with no amount per source, you cannot tell how much of any one type a scoop holds.

Who should buy which

More comparisons: Vital Proteins vs Sports Research, Vital Proteins vs Orgain, third-party tested collagen and the best collagen, ranked. How much to take: collagen dosage guide.

Questions

Is Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen third party tested?

Not on any public list we could find. On September 29, 2026 we searched NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, Informed Choice, NSF/ANSI 173 and USP Verified. The label carries a non-GMO seal, which is not a test of purity or banned substances.

Are 10 types of collagen better than one?

No study we know of compares a multi collagen blend with plain collagen peptides. The skin trials used collagen peptides, mostly from cattle or fish. Ancient Nutrition’s label lists four collagen sources in one 10 g blend and does not say how much comes from each, so you cannot tell how much of any one type you get.

Sources

  1. Labels: the label NSF keeps for Certified for Sport listing 1792557 (Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides, 4 Tbsp, 20 g) and NIH DSLD 287182 (Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen Protein). Amazon listings Vital Proteins 14.3 oz and Ancient Nutrition, 40 servings, read November 6, 2026.
  2. Testing: NSF Certified for Sport listing 1792557 (sizes 140 to 680 g); NSF/ANSI 173, Vital Proteins; searches of NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, Informed Choice, NSF/ANSI 173 and USP Verified for Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen, September 29, 2026.
  3. Brand page: Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen Protein (sources, store price, read September 29, 2026).
  4. Pu SY, et al. “Effects of Oral Collagen for Skin Anti-Aging: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.” Nutrients. 2023;15(9):2080. PubMed 37432180