Best Choline 2026: Bitartrate vs. Phosphatidylcholine, Choline/$
Informational summary — not medical advice. This page ranks product value and label transparency; on why choline matters and who needs more, see the hub and do you actually need one. This statement has not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
Of the 4 choline products tracked here, 3 disclose the actual elemental choline mg a serving delivers — the other 1 sells a phosphatidylcholine weight and leaves the real choline dose unknowable. Choline bitartrate is only about 41.1% elemental choline by molecular weight, so "650mg choline bitartrate" is not a 650mg choline dose. Among the disclosed products, Nutricost Choline Bitartrate 650mg is cheapest per 100mg elemental choline, Solgar Choline 350mg states the elemental figure directly without disclosing salt weight, and NOW Foods Choline & Inositol 500mg discloses both numbers explicitly but adds 250mg of inositol — a combo product, not choline alone. Alpha-GPC and Citicoline are separate, more expensive nootropic-focused choline forms — see Alpha-GPC and Citicoline rather than compare them here.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Ranked by disclosed elemental choline mg first, cost per 100mg elemental second, never commissions.
The one-line takeaway Three of the four products here disclose what they're actually selling; one doesn't. If you want the cheapest disclosed elemental choline, Nutricost Choline Bitartrate 650mg wins. If you want a label that states the elemental figure without extra math, Solgar Choline 350mg does that. Skip products that won't tell you the elemental mg — you cannot verify you're hitting the Adequate Intake without it.
Every product compared: elemental choline & cost
Sorted disclosed products first (cheapest cost per 100mg elemental choline), undisclosed last. Read the Elemental choline column before the price — the label-front bitartrate or phosphatidylcholine mg is not the dose that matters. Full data is a public CC BY JSON file.
| Product | Form | Label mg | Elemental choline | $ / serving | $ / 100mg elemental | Disclosure |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutricost Choline Bitartrate 650mg | Capsule | 650 mg | 260 mg | $0.07 | $0.03 | Elemental choline disclosed |
| Solgar Choline 350mg | Capsule | 350 mg | 350 mg | $0.13 | $0.04 | Elemental choline disclosed |
| NOW Foods Choline & Inositol 500mg | Capsule | 630 mg | 250 mg + 250mg inositol | $0.10 | $0.04 | Elemental choline disclosed |
| Double Wood Phosphatidylcholine 1200mg | Softgel | 1200 mg | Not disclosed | $0.10 | Unknowable | Elemental choline not disclosed ⚠ |
Prices are live Amazon buy-box figures, July 2026; they move. Cost per serving = price ÷ servings per container. Cost per 100mg elemental = (price ÷ servings) ÷ (elemental choline mg ÷ 100) — null where the label doesn't disclose that figure. NOW's product also delivers 250mg inositol per serving, a separate compound not counted toward the choline cost.
Two things worth reading before you buy
The elemental-vs-salt math, worked out. Choline bitartrate's molecular weight (253.25) is about 2.4x choline's molecular weight (104.17), so roughly 41.1% of a bitartrate serving is actual choline. Nutricost's 650mg bitartrate capsule delivers about 260mg elemental choline — Nutricost's own stated figure, consistent with the conversion. Solgar's label skips the salt-weight number and states 350mg choline directly. NOW discloses both: "Choline (from 630mg Choline Bitartrate) 250mg," plus 250mg of inositol, a different compound entirely, in the same capsule — a genuinely transparent label, but a combo product, not a pure choline comparison.
Neither phosphatidylcholine product in this comparison discloses elemental choline. Double Wood's 1200mg-per-softgel phosphatidylcholine (soy-lecithin-derived) states only the phosphatidylcholine weight. Phosphatidylcholine is roughly 13% choline by weight, but that is not a fixed, quotable conversion the way bitartrate's 41% is — purity and choline content vary by soy-lecithin source and batch, so this site does not compute an estimated elemental figure for it. That is a real, disclosable transparency gap in this product category, not a rounding-error omission — treat its true choline dose, and its cost per elemental mg, as unknowable from the label.
Third-party testing: none disclosed
Worth naming plainly since it's easy to miss: none of the four products tracked here disclose independent third-party testing (USP, NSF, or an equivalent certification) on their label or brand page. That doesn't mean the products are mislabeled — choline bitartrate is a simple, well-characterized commodity ingredient, not a botanical extract with the kind of adulteration risk seen in categories like saffron or rhodiola on this site — but it does mean the elemental-mg figures on the label are manufacturer-stated, not independently verified by a third-party lab. If third-party verification matters to you as much as the elemental-mg math, that's a real gap across this entire product set, not a knock on any single brand.
Verification check · Choline
What we could and could not verify about Choline
Not one Choline product in our catalogue appears in the NSF, USP or Informed Sport registries. A “cGMP” line audits the factory, not the Choline bottle you would actually receive.
Method: our Choline roster matched against the full public registries of third-party-certified supplements in the US — NSF/ANSI 173, USP Verified and Informed Sport, 5,317 listings, retrieved 2026-08-25. Absence means nobody independent has checked that Choline product, not that it failed. Full method and limitations.
The evidence · Choline
What the published reviews of Choline concluded
- Choline: An Essential Nutrient for Skeletal Muscle. · Nutrients, 2020
“Our scoping review elucidates and summarizes the crucial role of choline in modulating muscle fat metabolism, muscle proteins homeostasis, and the modulation of inflammation and autophagy.”
- Choline in pregnant women: a systematic review and meta-analysis. · Nutrition reviews, 2025
“The existing guidelines highlight the importance of choline in supporting maternal health and fetal development during pregnancy. Furthermore, a high maternal choline level was likely to be associated with a lower risk of APOs.”
- Choline PET or PET/CT and biochemical relapse of prostate cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. · Clinical nuclear medicine, 2013
“Choline PET and PET/CT represent high sensitivity and specificity techniques for the detection of locoregional and distant metastases in PCa patients with recurrence of disease.”
- Detection, resection and cure: a systematic review and meta-analysis of 18F-choline PET in primary hyperparathyroidism. · The quarterly journal of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging : official publication of the Italian Association of Nuclear Medicine (AIMN) [and] the International Association of Radiopharmacology (IAR), [and] Section of the Society of..., 2023
“FCH PET showed a high patient-based sensitivity, PPV and cure rate of PET guided surgery in patients with pHPT.”
Method: PubMed searched in humans for systematic reviews and meta-analyses with Choline in the title; these 4 of the 8 that qualified are shown with the authors’ own conclusion quoted rather than summarised. What it cannot tell you: whether Choline will work for you — each of these reports an average across trials published 2013–2025, and null findings are shown here as readily as positive ones.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best choline supplement?
Discloses elemental choline mg first, cheapest cost per 100mg elemental second. 3 of 4 products here disclose it; 1 is unknowable from the label.
Why isn't "650mg choline bitartrate" the same as 650mg of choline?
Bitartrate is a salt, only ~41.1% of which is elemental choline by molecular weight — chemistry, not a study finding.
Why can't you compute cost per mg for the phosphatidylcholine product?
The label doesn't disclose elemental choline, and phosphatidylcholine's ~13% choline content varies by purity — no fixed conversion exists, so the true dose is unknowable.
Should I buy Alpha-GPC or Citicoline instead?
Only for their specific cognition/exercise evidence — see /alpha-gpc/ and /citicoline/. They're separate, pricier forms, not compared head-to-head here.
Related
- Choline: why 90% of Americans fall short
- Choline dosage guide — AI, UL, and the bitartrate-to-elemental calculator
- Choline and pregnancy
- Do you actually need a choline supplement?
- Alpha-GPC — separate nootropic-focused choline form
- Citicoline — separate nootropic-focused choline form
Sources
- Manufacturer labels and live Amazon pricing for all listed products, July 2026. Full dataset: /choline/cost-by-brand.json (CC BY 4.0).
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. "Choline: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals" (molecular-weight conversion, Adequate Intake). ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Choline-HealthProfessional
- Wallace TC, Fulgoni VL. "Usual Choline Intakes Are Associated with Egg and Protein Food Consumption in the United States." J Am Coll Nutr. 2016. PMID: 26886842