Verified Supplement Data

Creatine Monohydrate vs HCl vs Other Forms (2026): Which Is Best?

Creatine monohydrate is the form to buy. It has by far the most studies, most trials found other forms no better, and 60% of the 1,917 creatine labels on sale name it. Our pick is Naked Creatine, $0.18 a day.

By Erin Rose Updated October 17, 2026 Sources

What to buy

Naked Creatine is plain micronized monohydrate, 5 g a scoop. It is on NSF/ANSI 173, a list that checks a tub holds what its label says.

Naked Creatine, Micronized Monohydrate (1 kg, unflavored)

Naked Creatine
$0.18 a day · NSF/ANSI 173

Check price on Amazon

Already have a tub of plain monohydrate? You do not need a new one. We do not recommend an HCl, buffered or ethyl ester product. If you want HCl anyway, see the best creatine HCl, which picks a tested one.

What does the research say about each form?

When other forms were tested against monohydrate, most did no better. One small 4-week trial in soccer players found HCl and ethyl ester did better. Creatine left sitting in water breaks down, so mix yours just before you drink it.

Each form against monohydrate, from the trials we found. Full studies are in the sources.
FormAgainst monohydrateWhat studies found
MonohydrateThe standardThe sports nutrition society’s position stand calls it the most studied form of creatine. Kreider 2017
HClMixedTwo small trials, 10 people per group, disagree. In 40 young adults who lifted for 8 weeks, every creatine group beat placebo, and HCl showed no benefit over monohydrate. Eghbali 2024 In 40 soccer players over 4 weeks, HCl beat monohydrate on jump, sprint and peak power. Duan 2026
Buffered (Kre-Alkalyn)No betterIn 36 trained adults over 28 days, it raised muscle creatine no more than monohydrate and did not cause fewer side effects. AlzChem, which makes Creapure monohydrate, paid for the trial; the authors say they ran and analyzed it on their own. Jagim 2012
Ethyl esterMixedIn 30 men over 7 weeks, it raised blood creatine less than monohydrate and raised creatinine (what creatine breaks down into) more. Muscle creatine came out about the same. Spillane 2009 In the 4-week soccer trial, it beat monohydrate on jump, sprint and peak power. Duan 2026
NitrateNo betterIn 48 people over 28 days, 3 g of creatine nitrate gave performance gains the authors call similar to 3 g of monohydrate. Nutrabolt, a supplement company, paid for it. One author works there, and the lead investigator, Richard Kreider, advises the company. Galvan 2016
Magnesium chelateNo betterIn 31 men taking a low dose (2.5 g a day) for 10 days, creatine bound to magnesium gave about the same exercise gains as plain creatine. Selsby 2004
Liquid (pre-mixed)Breaks down in waterA lab test, not a trial in people: a fizzy creatine drink mix (di-creatine citrate) dissolved in water lost 90% of its creatine in 45 days at room temperature, and 80% in the fridge. Creatine left sitting in water breaks down. Ganguly 2003

Is creatine HCl better than monohydrate?

Probably not, but the two small trials that compared them disagree (Eghbali 2024 and Duan 2026, in the table above). Monohydrate still has by far the most evidence. The case for HCl is that it dissolves more easily, so you can take less. No trial in people shows that a smaller HCl dose works as well.

Dissolving in a glass is not the same as getting into muscle

The study behind the idea measured how well creatine is absorbed in rats, and the HCl part came from a computer model. Two authors are inventors on creatine HCl patents owned by the University of Nebraska and licensed by Vireo Systems, which also helped pay for the study (Alraddadi 2018).

Gram for gram, HCl holds less creatine

It takes 5.6 g of HCl to match the creatine in 5 g of monohydrate. The chart below shows the other forms.

The patent behind creatine HCl

The creatine HCl patent, filed in 2004 by the University of Nebraska. Two of its inventors, Donald W. Miller and Jonathan L. Vennerstrom, are authors of the 2018 rat study above. Screenshots taken September 28, 2026; click an image to open the live page.

Industry ties run on both sides. The HCl rat study was part-funded by the HCl patent licensee. On the monohydrate side, AlzChem, which makes Creapure monohydrate, paid for the buffered-creatine trial in the table (Jagim 2012). A supplement trade group, the Council for Responsible Nutrition, paid to prepare the monohydrate position stand, and several of its authors have worked with companies that sell creatine (Kreider 2017). The soccer trial that favored HCl reports no funding and no conflicts (Duan 2026).

Already bought HCl? Finish the tub. Both trials found it works at least as well as monohydrate. Just do not pay more a dose for less creatine per gram.

How much of each form equals 5 g of monohydrate?

More, for almost every form. The extra part of each molecule adds weight but not creatine. Only anhydrous needs less.

Grams of each form that hold the creatine in 5 g of monohydrate
0 2.3 4.5 6.8 9 Anhydrous 100% creatine by weight 4.4 g Monohydrate 87.9% creatine by weight 5 g HCl (hydrochloride) 78.2% creatine by weight 5.6 g Nitrate 67.5% creatine by weight 6.5 g Citrate (tricreatine) 67.2% creatine by weight 6.5 g Pyruvate 59.8% creatine by weight 7.3 g Citrate (di-creatine) 57.7% creatine by weight 7.6 g
5 g of monohydrate holds 4.4 g of creatine. To get the same from HCl takes 5.6 g; from nitrate, 6.5 g. Source: Molecular weights (listed in the sources); creatine share = creatine weight ÷ weight of the whole form.
Grams of each form that hold the creatine in 5 g of monohydrate
ItemValue
Anhydrous4.4 g
Monohydrate5 g
HCl (hydrochloride)5.6 g
Nitrate6.5 g
Citrate (tricreatine)6.5 g
Pyruvate7.3 g
Citrate (di-creatine)7.6 g

Magnesium creatine chelate is left out, though it is on 248 labels: brands do not publish one formula for it, so its creatine per gram cannot be worked out from the label.

Which forms do creatine products use?

Most use monohydrate: 60.3% of the 1,917 creatine labels on the market name it, and 17.5% name HCl. A label can name more than one form, so the shares add to more than 100%.

Share of creatine labels on the market that name each form
0 16.5 33 49.5 66 Monohydrate 1,156 labels 60.3% Hydrochloride (HCl) 335 labels 17.5% Magnesium chelate 248 labels 12.9% Form not stated 224 labels 11.7% Nitrate 142 labels 7.4% Malate 84 labels 4.4% Kre-Alkalyn / buffered 76 labels 4.0% Ethyl ester 75 labels 3.9% Citrate 53 labels 2.8% Pyruvate 52 labels 2.7% Anhydrous 50 labels 2.6% Gluconate 42 labels 2.2%
Of 1,917 on-market creatine labels, 60.3% name monohydrate. The next most common, HCl, is on 17.5%. Source: NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database, on-market labels that list creatine, read September 23, 2026.
Share of creatine labels on the market that name each form
ItemValue
Monohydrate60.3%
Hydrochloride (HCl)17.5%
Magnesium chelate12.9%
Form not stated11.7%
Nitrate7.4%
Malate4.4%
Kre-Alkalyn / buffered4.0%
Ethyl ester3.9%
Citrate2.8%
Pyruvate2.7%
Anhydrous2.6%
Gluconate2.2%

What do micronized, Creapure and “pharmaceutical grade” mean?

Micronized

Milled into finer grains. Same creatine, same 3 to 5 g dose. Four of the eight plain powders on our best creatine list say micronized in their name. Naked Creatine is micronized.

Creapure

A brand of monohydrate made in Germany by AlzChem and sold to supplement makers. It names the source, not an outside test of the tub (see third-party tested creatine). Brands can change suppliers: Momentous’s old label names Creapure, and its site now says it has stopped (Momentous vs Thorne). If you want Creapure, our pick is Ascent Clean Creatine. Best Creapure creatine compares the brands that name it.

Ascent Clean Creatine, Creapure (100 servings, unflavored)

Ascent Clean Creatine (Creapure)
$0.40 a day

Check price on Amazon

“Pharmaceutical grade” or a brand’s own spec

A maker’s description of its own standard. Look for a testing list instead; it is checked by someone else.

More monohydrates we would buy are in best creatine, ranked by cost per 5 g. How much to take is in the dosage guide.

Questions

Does creatine HCl cause less bloating than monohydrate?

We found no trial of it. A PubMed search on September 28, 2026 for creatine hydrochloride with stomach, bloating, diarrhea or gastrointestinal returned no study of its side effects. If monohydrate upsets your stomach, take 3 to 5 g once a day with a meal, or split a larger dose, before you switch forms.

Is anhydrous creatine stronger?

Gram for gram, yes, a little: it is creatine with the water taken out, so 4.4 g equals 5 g of monohydrate. It is the same creatine once you take it, and it is on only 50 labels.

What we checked, and what we missed

The 2026 soccer trial. Duan 2026 put 40 male college soccer players into 4 groups of 10 (monohydrate, ethyl ester, HCl, placebo) for 4 weeks of sprint training. Its abstract says the ethyl ester and HCl groups gained more than the monohydrate group in sprint, jump and peak power after 4 weeks. It did not measure strength or muscle size, and it does not say how much of each form the players took. It lists no funding and no conflicts.

A trial we have not read. A second HCl trial (Tayebi and Arazi, 2020) is published outside PubMed. We have not read it, so it is not in the table.

Labels. Form shares come from 1,917 on-market creatine labels in NIH’s label database, read September 23, 2026. The math for each form uses the molecular weights in the sources.

Sources

  1. Kreider RB, et al. International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2017;14:18. Funding: the Council for Responsible Nutrition, a supplement trade group, paid to prepare it. Conflict of interest: the lead author has had industry grants for creatine research and advises Nutrabolt; several co-authors have worked with companies that sell creatine. PubMed; quote and conflicts from the full text.
  2. Alraddadi EA, et al. Absolute oral bioavailability of creatine monohydrate in rats: debunking a myth. Pharmaceutics. 2018;10(1):31. Conflict of interest: two authors are inventors on creatine HCl patents owned by the University of Nebraska and licensed by Vireo Systems. Funding: University of Nebraska Medical Center and Vireo Systems. PubMed
  3. Jagim AR, et al. A buffered form of creatine does not promote greater changes in muscle creatine content, body composition, or training adaptations than creatine monohydrate. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2012;9:43. Funding: AlzChem, maker of Creapure monohydrate; the authors say they collected and analyzed the data on their own. PubMed
  4. Spillane M, et al. The effects of creatine ethyl ester supplementation combined with heavy resistance training. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2009;6:6. PubMed
  5. Eghbali E, Arazi H, Suzuki K. Supplementing with which form of creatine (hydrochloride or monohydrate) alongside resistance training can have more impacts on anabolic/catabolic hormones, strength and body composition? Physiol Res. 2024;73(5):739-753. PubMed
  6. Duan C, Wang Z, Wang Q. Creatine formulations and repeated sprint training: effects on physical and physiological adaptations in soccer players during the short-term preparation phase. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2026;23(sup1):2721147. Funding: none; no conflicts reported. PubMed
  7. Galvan E, et al. Acute and chronic safety and efficacy of dose dependent creatine nitrate supplementation and exercise performance. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2016;13:12. Funding: Nutrabolt, through an unrestricted grant; one author is Nutrabolt’s Director of Clinical Sciences, and the lead investigator, Richard Kreider, is a Nutrabolt scientific advisor. PubMed
  8. Selsby JT, et al. Mg2+-creatine chelate and a low-dose creatine supplementation regimen improve exercise performance. J Strength Cond Res. 2004;18(2):311-5. PubMed
  9. Ganguly S, Jayappa S, Dash AK. Evaluation of the stability of creatine in solution prepared from effervescent creatine formulations. AAPS PharmSciTech. 2003;4(2):E25. PubMed
  10. Labels: NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (dsld.od.nih.gov), 1,917 on-market creatine labels, read September 23, 2026.
  11. NSF/ANSI 173 listing for Naked Creatine. info.nsf.org
  12. Molecular weights (g/mol): creatine 131.13; water 18.02; hydrochloric acid 36.46; nitric acid 63.01; pyruvic acid 88.06; citric acid 192.12. Tricreatine citrate is 3 creatine to 1 citric acid; di-creatine citrate is 2 to 1.

This page sums up published research and label counts. It is not medical advice. Talk to a clinician before you start a supplement.